Every time you climb into a vehicle you are at risk of being in a car accident. According to Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, in 2020 the state had a total of 341,399 vehicle crashes. As a result, there were 15,614 incapacitating injuries and 196,818 other injuries, plus 3,098 fatalities.
Your success in receiving the compensation you deserve from an insurance company or following a lawsuit depends on 1) following an accident checklist and 2) hiring a car accident lawyer.
If you are wondering when to get a lawyer for a car accident, the answer is the sooner the better. You do not want to go beyond the Florida Statute of Limitations, which varies depending on your specific circumstances.
Florida Statute of Limitations
Florida Statute 627.736 allows you 14 days to seek medical treatment for injuries you sustain in an accident. If you fail to obtain treatment within that time the insurance company may deny your claim for medical benefits.
Do not rely on medical insurance to cover your costs. Florida Statute 627.736 designates auto insurance as the primary medical insurance coverage following an accident.
This is why hiring a personal injury lawyer is beneficial. They know what you are entitled to receive according to law. If you reach a settlement on a lawsuit, Florida Statute 627.4265 requires the insurance company to pay your claim within 20 days. Overdue payments are subject to a 12% interest rate.
The state also has a four-year statute of limitations on filing negligence lawsuits. If anyone dies in the accident, a wrongful death lawsuit has a two-year statute of limitations.
Negotiating Alone or Hiring a Lawyer
Insurance companies are out to make money, not pay your claim. They will offer you a quick low-ball settlement hoping that you take it. If you settle with them, you are unable to come back later with a higher claim.
Your first call after receiving an offer needs to be a car accident lawyer. They will review the offer and advise you on whether it is fair. They will know if your injuries justify a higher settlement.
In Miami, finding a car accident lawyer near me is as easy as calling 1-800-388-CEDA. They know that in addition to your current medical bills you may receive compensation for:
- Future medical expenses
- Lost wages
- Pain and suffering
- Punitive damages
- Reduced earning capacity
Never agree to any type of accident settlement without first speaking with a personal injury lawyer.
Special Considerations for Ride-Share Auto Accidents
If you work as a driver or ride as a passenger for companies such as Lyft or Uber, you need to be aware of special insurance regulations. Those rules make car accident lawsuits tricky. The companies legally claim their drivers are independent contractors.
This means the company is not responsible for a passenger’s injuries in an accident. The driver of the vehicle carries all liability.
Drivers for ride-share companies must have personal ride-share insurance coverage. This provides passenger protection when the app is on. Uber and Lyft have commercial insurance providing coverage for the driver when they have passengers in the vehicle.
If you suffer injuries as a driver or passenger in a ride-share accident, you need the expertise of a ride-share accident attorney.
When to Get a Lawyer for a Car Accident
If you are wondering when to get a lawyer for a car accident, the answer is simple. You need to schedule a consultation if you suffer injuries or if you are at fault in a collision causing injury or death to others. Your first call is to notify your insurance company of the accident, and your second call is to a Miami car accident attorney.
Call 1-800-388-CEDA or use our car accident contact form to schedule your consultation today.